Oxford Learner’;s Dictionnaire universitaire anglais

Oxford University Press launched their Learner’;s Dictionary of English Academic samedi dernier, and LanguageUK was present –; en force!

Est-il la peine d'acheter un dictionnaire de l'anglais académique, especially if you have just spent a lot of money on an advanced learner’;s dictionnaire?

Comment est différent anglais académique de la normale anglais?

The editor of Oxford’;s nouveau dictionnaire, Dianna Lea, a donné un excellent discours qui a aidé à répondre à cette question. Les mots que vous pensez que vous savez dire quelque chose de différent quand ils sont utilisés dans des contextes académiques ou spécialisés.

Dr Lea a donné plusieurs exemples, mais un en particulier fait le point. We all know what ‘;table’; veux dire. Il est l'un des premiers mots que nous apprenons en anglais. Mais si vous utilisez un ordinateur pour lire un grand échantillon de textes académiques, you will find that the most common type of ‘;table’; mentionnée est celle qui contient des données.

Vous trouverez également que dans un dictionnaire ordinaire, the word ‘;on’; is a good one to use with ‘;table’; (il a mis ses livres sur la table). Dans le dictionnaire académique, it is the words ‘;above’;,;below’; and ‘;in’; qui ont besoin d'apprendre:

  • Le tableau ci-dessous / ci-dessus donne chiffres de la production
  • The numbers in the table refer to …;.

Comme tous les dictionnaires, celui-ci aide à collocations, mais ceux qui sont spécifiquement académiques.

Quels mots sont dans le dictionnaire?

Le dictionnaire définit des mots qui sont utilisés dans de nombreux domaines, avec de bons exemples de sources universitaires. They could be called ‘;general academic’; vocabulaire. The focus of the dictionary is not specialist ‘;technical vocabulary’; (si cela est couvert si nécessaire).

Comment a été le dictionnaire créé?

Le dictionnaire a été créé par le traitement d'une énorme base de données de 85 millions de mots de manuels universitaires et des revues universitaires. Ce sont le genre de lecture à trouver sur les listes de lecture universitaires et dans les tests de lecture IELTS.

Diana Lea’;équipe s a parlé aux enseignants et aux étudiants avant qu'ils écrivent le dictionnaire. They learned that what causes most problems for EAP students is ‘;academic writing’;. La conception du dictionnaire est destiné à aider à ce problème. En plus des entrées du dictionnaire, il y a une section de référence à long. It includes a ‘;writing tutor’; avec des textes de modèle pour vous aider à structurer et écrire vos essais, rapports et thèses.

Vais-je trouver ce dictionnaire utile?

Donc, ce dictionnaire est destiné tout particulièrement aux étudiants de tous les subjectswho lisent les manuels scolaires et la rédaction de textes académiques en anglais, même si ce n'est pas leur langue maternelle. Vous trouverez très utile si vous êtes:

  • étudier à l'examen IELTS
  • sur un cours de présession- sur un parcours de fondation universitaire
  • suivre un cours de premier cycle ou maîtrise
  • la rédaction de documents académiques en anglais dans votre domaine de spécialisation

Nous avons vu aucun dictionnaire similaire, et Oxford dire qu'ils croient qu'il est le premier de son genre. Il est bien produit, with excellent ‘;extras’;. Ceux-ci comprennent un CD-ROM avec des listes de tuteur d'écriture et mot divisé en quatre domaines d'études universitaires: sciences physiques, sciences de la vie, sciences sociales et les arts et les sciences humaines.

Nous allons certainement en utilisant le dictionnaire dans nos cours d'anglais et IELTS anglais présession.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur les cours de préparation à l'IELTS et des cours de présession à LanguageUK, contacter Joanna Sessions.

email: info@languageuk.com
Skype: hablemosuk

Plus d'informations sur Oxford Learner’;s Dictionnaire universitaire anglais on the company’;Site de s à
https://elt.oup.com/catalogue/items/global/dictionaries/9780194333504?cc=gb&selLanguage=en

Aucun commentaire

Laissez un commentaire:

Pour la sécurité, utilisation du service reCAPTCHA de Google est nécessaire, qui est soumis à Google Politique de confidentialité et Conditions d'utilisation.

Si vous acceptez ces termes, Cliquez s'il vous plait ici.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire le spam. Découvrez comment vos données de commentaire est traité.

Avez-vous des questions? Besoin de plus d'informations?

Suivez-nous sur les médias sociaux
LanguageUK

Oxford Learner’s Dictionary of Academic English

Oxford University Press launched their Learner’s Dictionary of Academic English last Saturday, and LanguageUK was present – in force!

Is it worth buying a dictionary of academic English, especially if you have just spent a lot of money on an advanced learner’s dictionary?

How is academic English different from normal English?

The editor of Oxford’s new dictionary, Dianna Lea, gave an excellent talk that helped to answer this question. Words that you think you know mean something different when they are used in academic or specialist contexts.

Dr Lea gave several examples, but one in particular makes the point. We all know what ‘table’ means. It is one of the first words that we learn in English. But if you use a computer to read a huge sample of academic texts, you will find that the most common type of ‘table’ mentioned is the one that contains data.

You will also find that in an ordinary dictionary, the word ‘on’ is a good one to use with ‘table’ (he put his books on the table). In the academic dictionary, it is the words ‘above’,’below’ and  ‘in’ that need to be learnt:

  •  The table below/above gives figures for output
  •  The numbers in the table refer to ….

Like all dictionaries, this one helps with collocations, but specifically academic ones.

What words are in the dictionary?

The dictionary defines words that are used across many different subject areas, with  good examples from academic sources. They could be called ‘general academic’ vocabulary. The focus of the dictionary is not specialist ‘technical vocabulary’ (though this is covered when necessary).

How was the dictionary created?

The dictionary was created by processing a huge database of 85 million words from university textbooks and academic journals. These are the kinds of reading to be found on university reading lists and in IELTS reading tests.

Diana Lea’s team spoke to teachers and students before they wrote the dictionary. They learned that what causes most problems for EAP students is ‘academic writing’. The design of the dictionary is intended to help with this problem. In addition to the dictionary entries, there is a long reference section. It includes a ‘writing tutor’ with model texts to help you to structure and write your essays, reports and theses.

Will I find this dictionary useful?

So this dictionary is aimed especially at students of all subjectswho are reading academic textbooks and writing academic texts in English even though it is not their native language. You will find it very useful if you are:

  •  studying to take the IELTS exam
  • on a pre-sessional course- on a university foundation course
  • taking an undergraduate or masters course
  • writing academic papers in English in your field of specialisation

We have not seen any similar dictionary, and Oxford say that they believe it is the first of its kind. It is well-produced, with excellent ‘extras’. These include a CD ROM with writing tutor and word lists divided into four areas of academic study: physical sciences, life sciences, social sciences and arts  and humanities.

We will certainly be using the dictionary in our pre-sessional English and IELTS English classes.

If you want to learn more about IELTS preparation courses and pre-sessional courses at LanguageUK, contact Joanna Sessions.

email: [email protected]
Skype: hablemosuk

More information about Oxford Learner’s Dictionary of Academic English on the company’s website at
https://elt.oup.com/catalogue/items/global/dictionaries/9780194333504?cc=gb&selLanguage=en

No Comments

Leave a Comment:

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do you have questions? Need more information?

Follow us on Social Media
LanguageUK