What is IELTS?

IELTS, the International English Language Testing System, is an exam designed to assess the language ability of candidates who need to study or work where English is the language of communication. It covers the four language skills – listening, reading, writing and speaking. There are two modules to choose from, the Academic (required by universities) and the General (mainly used for immigration to English-speaking countries).

The test is recognised by universities and employers throughout the world, including the UK, Australia, Canada and New Zealand. IELTS is a requirement for MBAs and is recognised by professional bodies such as banks and large multinational companies, immigration authorities and other government agencies.

At LanguageUK we have teachers who are very experienced in helping students to understand and take the IELTS exam. To learn more, click through to our IELTS Courses page.

The chart below gives you some idea of how IELTS grades compare to the levels within the Common European Framework of Reference.

8.5 C2
7.0 C1
5.5 B2
4.0 B1

No Comments

Leave a Comment:

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do you have questions? Do you need more information?

Follow us on Social Media